Mountain Meditation

I began meditating over 3 years ago while looking for a way to de-stress my life. My job was making me loco so I found that meditation helped ease the mental discomfort I was feeling. In the beginning of my journey within I was not meditating consistently so results were generally ok but not as dramatic as I had hoped for. Now I have been able to meditate daily at least once, sometimes twice. Once a week I get up to the mountains that are on the south-western edge of the Mojave Desert. The views are amazing and the solitude is wonderful. Depending on the season you can see coyotes, ravens, falcons, and various hawks. Oftentimes all you can hear is the wind rushing over the wings of the birds as they circle overhead.

On a mountain top I cleared a small area of rocks and circled it with white quartz and other rocks creating my “recalibration station”. It’s a pleasant rocky area with views of at least 60 miles or more on a clear day.

meditationstation120614

Yesterday, December 6th, I was feeling better after catching a cold on Wednesday so I headed off to the mountain for a meditation session. The best way to get up to the mountain top if by mountain bike. You can drive to the area and hike up but that is too easy. It’s much more fun to ride up and get in some exercise at the same time. Once up to the area I didn’t see anyone around. Occasionally there are dirtbike riders or gun shooters practicing there shots in the wide open space of the foothills. The ride is an easy cruise on a short paved section then onto double track dirt trails for about 3/4 of a mile. Once the trailhead is reached I drop all my clothes and leave my shoes on and hike/ride up to the top of the mountain. The weather was slightly cool but the sun was shining through the clouds and it felt great to get outside and feel the warmth from the sun. At the summit I set up my meditation towel and had a nice quiet time to reflect on the day and then clear my mind.

meditation120614

I stayed up on the mountain for about 45 minutes and took in the sights and sounds of nature. It was almost perfect. A few less clouds would have been nice but I am not complaining!

This time of the year a local cattle rancher brings in a small herd for grazing. I counted 12 cows in a large flat space down below me. Once I was ready to head down I packed up my gear and walked nude down to the trailhead. The natural feeling of the air all over your body, with the sun shining, is truly one of life’s treasures that I fear many, if not most, people will never enjoy. Once I made it to the trailhead I got dressed and rode over to the cows. They were grazing and doing what cows do, pretty much nothing. A few took an interest in me so I set up my camera and got as close as I could get to them within the time I had for the camera timer to snap a photo of the cows staring at the naked ape in front of them.

cowsarenotfood120614

After the photo and repacking my gear I rode back home. It’s about a 20 minute ride back to my house and it’s mostly down hill so it’s a breeze. As usual my state of mind was calm and happy. A quick shower and I was feeling physically, and more importantly, mentally refreshed. Hopefully the weather clears up and the clouds move away for more naturist fun next week!

Stay Naked!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

